Burundi is a landlocked country bordered by Rwanda to its north, Tanzania to the east and south and to the west by the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

Burundi is a hilly country with altitudes ranging from 2600-9000 feet (790-2745 m). The only land below 3,000 ft is a narrow strip of plain along the Ruzizi River which forms the western border north of Lake Tanganyika. The weather in Bujumbura and along the shores of Lake Tanganyika is warm and humid with average temperatures ranging from 64-89° F (218-32° C); frost sometimes occurs at night in the highlands. Dry seasons are June-September and December-January; the principal rainy season is February-May.

The major rivers form natural boundaries for most of the country. The Akanuaru and the Kagera separate Burundi from Rwanda along many sections of the common border. The Kagera and the Ruvuvu are other southern most tributaries of the mighty Nile River while most of Burundi’s southern border is formed by the Malagarazi River.

Burundi has only two large cities that include Bujum­bura and Gitega. It is presently visited more by transit tourists than as a destination in itself. However, there are some attractions that warrant a short visit, especially for the prolific chimpanzee and birdlife.

The three major ethnic groups in the country are the Hutu, Tutsi and Twa (pygmy). Hutus are primarily farmers and comprise more than half the population while the Tutsi are a pastoral tribe and comprise less than a quarter of the popula­tion; they came to the region a few hundred years after the Hutus. The Twa (Pygmy) were the original inhabitants though they presently comprise less than two percent of the population.

The official languages are French and Kirundi though Swahili is also spoken.